Shedding light on Christian-Muslim Relations

muslims-and-christians--e1450293567816

When I was a young boy growing up in Pakistan, I was surrounded by every comfort for which anyone could ask. That is one of the benefits of belonging to a prominent Shia Muslim family. What I understand now that I didn’t back then is that what is accepted by the masses isn’t necessarily all that there is. At least it wasn’t for me.

I had no doubt that my family loved me, and I knew that there were great things in store for me as a leader in our community, especially if I could strive to just be a good Muslim. I loved Islam and everything it taught me. But there was always something else tugging at me on which I couldn’t put a finger.

 Islam is a religion that calls for respect and devotion. I admire those who passionately put their faith first, making sure to closely follow the pillars of Islam. I also admire the faith of those who claim Christ as their savior, and go about sharing His message of love and forgiveness through grace, in spite of the danger they willingly place themselves in. There is no doubt that there are those on both sides that fiercely protect and defend what they know to be true. And as history has shown, that debate can lead to misunderstandings, which often produces horrific repercussions.

FULL ARTICLE FROM BELIEF NET

One thought on “Shedding light on Christian-Muslim Relations

  1. Yours is a powerful story. Thank you for opening up this kind of conversation. The more that we can share our personal faith stories with one another, the better we will be able to build a more peaceful world together. Here in San Francisco, my congregation is part of a Muslim-Christian discussion group. It has been immensely informative. But even more so, the friendships we are developing are invaluable.

Leave a Reply

